Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Auto Insurance Companies

Texas Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers

A Concise Overview

  • Anyone over age 65 is considered to be elderly in the state of Texas.
  • Seniors over the age of 85 are required to renew their driver’s license every two years in Texas
  • USAA and State Farm have cheap Texas auto insurance for seniors

You are approaching the age where the phrase “senior citizen” can be worn proudly like a badge, or maybe you are caring for a family member who is elderly. Either way, if senior citizens are on the road, it’s important to know what rules apply to them.

What are the rules for senior citizen drivers in Texas? This guide will explain them to you. Did we forget to mention we have the inside scoop on the best insurance companies for Texas senior citizens? We’ll help you understand Texas car insurance requirements for seniors and how to buy coverage.

Before learning more about the rules for senior citizens driving in Texas, start comparing Texas senior auto insurance rates today by using our free online tool. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.

Insurance for Senior Citizens in Texas

Insurance is just as important for seniors as it is to first-time drivers. Let’s look at some insurance basics in Texas, as well as how these laws affect senior citizens more directly.

How much does car insurance cost in Texas?

Senior car insurance costs in Texas can vary. Just like every state in the U.S., Texas requires that its residents carry minimum coverage levels of insurance. What is the minimum requirement for Texas auto insurance? The table below shows the average cost of insurance in Texas from popular auto insurance companies.

CompaniesAverage Annual Auto Insurance Rates
State Farm $2,879.95
Geico $3,263.39
Nationwide $3,867.57
Progressive $4,664.85
The General$4,849.18

As you can see in the table above, the cheapest auto insurance company for Texas senior citizens is USAA, followed by State Farm.

If you are over age 60 you may be wondering about reduced rates on auto insurance for seniors, check out the following data. It shows you how much your car insurance rates go down once you turn age 60.

CompanyAnnual Rates for a Married 60-Year-Old FemaleAnnual Rates for a Married 60-Year-Old MaleAnnual Rates for a Married 35-Year-Old FemaleAnnual Rates for a Married 35-Year-Old MaleAnnual Rates for a Single 25-Year-Old FemaleAnnual Rates for a Single 25-Year-Old MaleAnnual Rates for a Single 17-Year-Old FemaleAnnual Rates for a Single 17-Year-Old Male
State Farm Mutual Auto$1,797.39$1,797.39$2,020.71$2,020.71$2,195.23$2,262.71$4,814.71$6,130.76
Nationwide CCMIC$2,146.15$2,275.09$2,430.55$2,473.88$2,851.87$3,088.49$6,856.66$8,817.88
Progressive Cty Mtl$2,219.05$2,262.84$2,496.28$2,372.24$2,956.93$2,997.99$10,406.29$11,607.15
Geico County Mutual Ins Co.$2,340.42$2,649.67$2,433.73$2,622.73$2,632.39$2,627.86$5,298.09$5,502.21
The Gen Automobile Ins Co Inc$2,712.68$3,109.48$2,918.37$3,249.14$4,191.50$4,782.23$7,713.17$10,116.84
Allstate F&C$3,520.01$3,520.01$3,564.65$3,599.14$4,410.14$4,599.76$9,359.61$11,309.20

So, what is the best car insurance company for seniors in Texas?

The cheapest Texas auto insurance for those in the 60-and-over demographic are ostensibly USAA and State Farm. These two companies are about $1,900 cheaper than the most expensive competitor, Allstate.

Driving Laws for Senior Citizens in Texas

Did you know that no matter how old you are, every Texan must get their license renewed every six years? Texas drivers licenses for senior citizens are no different until age 85.

At that point, senior citizen drivers in Texas have reached an age limit on six-year renewals.

If you are 85 or older, elderly drivers license renewal laws apply. You must get your license renewed every two years. Senior citizen drivers license renewal in Texas can’t be done online or through the mail. You must renew in person. You must also provide proof of adequate vision with every renewal (79 or older).

Do seniors have to take the driving test in Texas?

The short answer is no. Your renewal will require a vision test, and a license and permit specialist will evaluate your responses provided at the time of your renewal regarding your medical history. The video below explains some roadblocks for seniors and the REAL ID Act.

You may also wonder, at what age do seniors have to take a driving test in Texas? Normally, there are no driving tests for the elderly.

If the driver is over age 85 and has a significant medical history, a drivers’ license attendant may request to observe the driver in the vehicle. Thus, ruling out potential risk towards the senior driver or others on the road.

What is the age limit for driving in Texas?

There is no age limit for a driver’s license in Texas. As long as you meet the requirements and pass the Texas drivers license renewal vision test, you can continue to drive.

What are the vision requirements for driving in Texas? You must have 20/70 vision or better in both eyes to pass.

How do I report an unsafe driver in Texas?

You can contact the Texas DPS to report an unsafe driver. A Texas driver’s license can be suspended for medical reasons.

Texas law lists several medical conditions that can affect the ability to drive. If you are wondering about conditions like epilepsy, heart conditions, or syncope and driving restrictions, you should review the Texas Medical Evaluation Process for Driver Licensing.

Find affordable senior auto insurance in Texas right now. Enter your ZIP code to compare free Texas auto insurance quotes for seniors.



Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Copyright © 2024 Texas Car Insurance